I want to be the best human being I can be, and I want you to be that too.

Earlier this year, I made a New Year’s resolution.  That resolution was to learn every part of the gentlman’s codes of honor and chivalry.  Now, the thing is, being a gentleman is not exclusive to treating the fairer sex correctly all the time.  It also covers other areas such as fighting and ethical situations.

As I learned, I thought that it would lead me on the path to becoming an overall better person.  And, some of items I’ve learned have definitely contributed to me being how I am right now.

As the months have gone hotter, I keep walking around downtown(I like spending time outside a lot now), and I see a lot of people around.  Those downtown scene people, the panhandlers, the creepy guys that have homes, but just want to ask others for drinks.  I see all of them.  I wonder what they have been through, I wonder what their struggles are, and sometimes, I wonder what can I do to make their lives better.

I think, that somehow, we get lost in everything at times.  We forget that, we are all people, we are all human beings.  It kinda is irrelevant what or who we like, what color your skin is, what religion you practice, it all comes back to all of us being human in the end.  We make our mistakes, some small, while others are big, but most of the time, we are still standing.

I want to become a better human being.  I don’t want to say I’m no better than the person that is sitting out there hungry, or cold.  I don’t want to say I’m no worse than the person that has all the success and power in the world.

I just want to be the best version of me that I can be.  I think that, pursuing a career in writing, will unlock this.  I want my words to heal someone one day, to touch someone in a way that they can become a better human being.  Then, in turn, they can do something to make someone else better.

It’s now not about being a better man or woman for me.  I mean, we are all humans.  Let’s strive to be better humans, and make this world better with one little thing. 

This entry, is dedicated to this very thing.

3 Comments

  1. You’re right we should value each other purely because we are human beings, we all have that intrinsic value. Saying that, I find it’s easier said then done and I find that I sometimes put other people on a pedestal for their successes and achievements or catch myself being critical of others choices. I guess I’m still learning hey? 🙂

    • Yeah, it’s completely easier said than done. I guess the big thing is that you do what you can, you know?

      One thing that has helped me immensely over this past year is that I’ve been more objective about everything and everyone. I guess it’s more of I want to understand how an instance can change someone in an instant. I think it’s this that has me becoming more difficult to actually bring myself to bop people for making this decision or that choice, you know?

      But I do it too, I mean, hell I’m still learning, but I think that’s the beauty of it! I know I’ve messed up my share of times in the regards of being too critical. You get to make some mistakes. It’s just what you do after it that will be the big thing in the long run.

      • 🙂 Thanks, it’s definitely food for thought & I think you’re right about being objective, I’m gonna try a little harder to be more compassionate!

Leave a Reply

